Belleville: 618-234-9800 | Edwardsville: 618-656-2244 | ST. LOUIS: 314-421-2325

By: Deanna L. Litzenburg 

Illinois’ minimum wage will make its second increase this year to $10 an hour on July 1, 2020.  Employees who are over the age of 18 and earn tips must be paid a minimum of 60 percent of the hourly wage.  These workers must still earn the minimum wage after receiving tips.  Workers who are under 18 years of age and work fewer than 650 hours in a year earn a minimum wage of $8 per hour.

Employers are encouraged to review their hourly rates to make sure that they comply with the new minimum wage and hour laws.  Additional minimum wage increases are scheduled in Illinois on January 1 of each year until the state reaches a minimum wage of $15.00.

If you have any questions on the wage increase or other employment matters, please do not hesitate to contact our experienced team of employment lawyers.

Professional Services Disclaimer: Please note that the information presented here is as an educational service, and while it contains information about legal issues, it is not legal advice. No warranty is made regarding the applicability of the information presented to a particular client situation, and the information set forth is not a substitute for original legal research, analysis and drafting for a particular client situation.